Song of the week: “Heartbreaker” by Bad Suns

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640.jpg

It feels like I haven’t highlighted a song of the week for a while, so I am back at it with a solid JAM.

Since I have moved to LA, I have started spending a significant amount of time in the car. I was able to spend the first week listening to the radio, but a minimum of two hours driving per day soon made the radio repetitive and unbearable(“Heathens” by Twenty One Pilots is officially banned from my vehicle now).

So, I finally gave in and bought a subscription to Apple Music so I could have access to unlimited music and make ~sick~ playlists for my ride.

My subscription just happened to coincide with the release of the new Bad Suns album “Disappear Here.” I am a huge fan of the band, and have been since I discovered their song “Cardiac Arrest” as the free iTunes song of the week during my freshman year of college. Their 2014 release “Language and Perspective” has been a constant favorite of mine over the past couple of years. Basically, I had been patiently waiting for this latest release.

First off I’ll say that “Disappear Here” as an entire album is the perfect vibe for driving around LA, and I think I’ll probably always associate it with that now, even if I don’t ultimately end up staying out here when my semester is over.

I genuinely like all of the songs on the album, but one in particular has been stuck in my head nonstop. And that’s “Heartbreaker.” There’s just something about it that I love.

Bad Suns are going to be playing a show here in LA on November 18th, but the show is sold out and I don’t have a ticket, which is a bummer. Hopefully I can find a way to change that between now and then.

Leave a Reply

